

EXTRAORDINARY PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 2860, CUTTACK, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 7, 2022 / ASWINA 15, 1944

HOME (ELECTIONS) DEPARTMENT

NOTIFICATION

The 7th October, 2022

No.6713–EC-CON-COE-0026/2022/Elec.— The following notification issued by Election Commission of India, New Delhi is hereby published in the extraordinary issue of the Gazette of Government of Odisha for general information.

By Order

SUSHIL KUMAR LOHANI Chief Electoral Officer & *Ex Officio* Principal Secretary to Government

ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi

Dated: 7th October, 2022 15 Asvina, 1944 (Saka)

NOTIFICATION

No.100/OR-LA/02/ES-II/2022:- WHEREAS, the seat of Shri Bishnu Charan Sethi, in the Legislative Assembly of the State of Odisha, elected from 46-Dhamnagar (SC) Assembly Constituency has fallen vacant on 20th September, 2022 due to his sudden demise; and

2. WHEREAS, a bye-election is to be held for the purpose of filling the said vacancy;

3. NOW, THEREFORE, in pursuance of sub-section (2) of Section 150 and Sections 30 and 56 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951),

the Election Commission hereby: -

- A. Calls upon the said 46-Dhamnagar (SC) Assembly Constituency in the State of Odisha, to elect, before **08th November**, **2022** (Tuesday) and in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, a person belonging to any of the Schedule Caste of the State, for the purpose of filling the said vacancy in the said Legislative Assembly of the State; and
- B. Appoints, with respect to the said election:
 - a) the 14th October, 2022 (Friday), as the last date for making nominations;
 - b) the 15th October, 2022 (Saturday), as the date for the scrutiny of nominations;
 - c) the 17th October, 2022 (Monday), as the last date for withdrawal of candidatures;
 - d) the 3rd November, 2022 (Thursday), as the date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken;
 - e) the 8th November, 2022 (Tuesday), as the date before which the election shall be completed; and
- C. Fixes the hours from 07:00 AM to 06:00 PM as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken on the date specified above for the election.

By Order,

(RAKESH KUMAR) SECRETARY

Printed and Published by the Director, Printing, Stationery and Publication, Odisha, Cuttack-10 OGP/SBP Ex.Gaz.2230-183+100